Leviticus 23:39 “So beginning with the fifteenth day of the seventh month, after you have gathered the crops of the land, celebrate the festival to the Lord for seven days; the first day is a day of rest, the eighth day also is a day of rest.”

This Scripture describes the Feast of Tabernacles, beginning with verse 32, which is one of the 7 feasts the Lord commanded the people of Israel to keep. Each of these feasts has an important meaning to the Christian’s walk and is related to the New Testament:

Leviticus Chapter 23 describes the seven Feasts that God commanded the Israelites to observe.

The Scene: The number 7 repeated over and over in the Holy Scriptures, representing the significance of the number 7, to God and His people. There are 37 sevens shown. The number 37 represents Jesus; exaltation (the raising up/elevating of Jesus) in the Bible number system.

The seven feasts with Christian interpretation/significance

  1. Passover Feast: celebration of salvation. (John Chapter 6)
  2. Unleavened Bread: stop sinning. (1 Corinthians 5:8)
  3. First Fruits: Jesus was the First Fruit of the coming harvest. (James 1:18)
  4. Pentecost: baptism in the Holy Spirit. (Acts Chapter 2)
  5. Trumpets: fear of the Lord; (hear God for ourselves). (Mark 4:23-24)
  6. Atonement(Day of) : get ready for going to God –(one with God).(Hebrews Chapter 9)
  7. Tabernacles: go into God’s presence.(John Chapter 7)

The number 7 is significant in God’s Word. The number 7 appears 391 times in the NIV,  The bible number 7 represents perfection, completeness, fullness, ministry of Jesus, entire ministry team, revelation, bringing to an end.

Copyright 2015 Larry and Kathy

If you find this worthy please pass it on to others.